Born in the backwoods, raised by a bear…

There is something beautiful about realizing that you are in the exact right place at exactly the right time. For the last few years, this is how I have felt about Mississippi College. My story, however, is a bit different than most.

I arrived at Mississippi College in the Fall of 2007. Since then, I have changed my major (twice), changed roommates (thrice), changed boyfriends (I stopped counting.), changed my hair (dramatically.), and I have changed friend groups several times before settling in. Looking back on all of these things, I see such a reflection of the Lord’s faithfulness. Five years ago, if someone would have asked me to predict what my life would look like now, I would have gotten every single detail wrong. I am so thankful.

Here is what I looked like freshman year.

Sophomore year:

Junior year:

Senior year (round one):

and Now:

My name is Ashlee, and I am a Senior (again) at MC. I am 5 feet even and I laugh louder than anyone you have ever met. Ever. I am obsessed with sports, music, and reading. I have severe Narcolepsy, but it doesn’t affect me in everyday life. I am just able to fall asleep at night really, really quickly. My major is English Literature and my minor is German. Ich leibe dich allen. Almost all of my best friends are on the baseball team and they are hilarious, loyal, and wonderful. I enjoy my coffee every morning (served black) and I absolutely hate the consistency of creamed corn, bread pudding, and jello.

I am a part of Kissimee Social Tribe. I am a member of a local church (Crossgates Baptist in Brandon). I have zero prospects in the boyfriend department, I am having to take chapel during my very last semester (not recommended), and I have absolutely no idea where my life is heading in just two short months. It has been quite the adventure to get to where I am and the road has not always been speed bump free. However, I am going to trust in the Lord because He is forever faithful and He is forever good.

 

Leave a Reply

