Decisions… Decisions… Decided.

It was the spring of my senior year in high school and the pressure was starting to rise. I wasn’t sure where I wanted to go to college or what I wanted to do with my life. My parents knew that my indecisive nature was not necessarily in my favor in this situation and they were ready for an answer. Of course, they would have supported me no matter where I chose to go, but they knew that I needed to focus on enjoying the rest of my senior year and that could only be done if I was at peace with what the next step was in my journey.

 Growing up, it was instilled in me that receiving an education was of great importance, so I knew I always wanted to go to college, the only problem I had was deciding where to go. As a young teenager, I lived in Maumelle, AR, a suburb of Little Rock, but moved to Brandon, MS (about 20 min. outside of Jackson) during my freshman year in high school. Part of me was torn and wanted to return to the state that I still considered home and go to the University of Arkansas. However, there was another part of me that wanted to stay near my family. As a result, I considered all the big, public universities around the state of Mississippi that would provide me the opportunity to go off to school, but still be relatively close to my family. I went to a fairly large high school of 1600 students and was able to be fairly successful there, but knew that I wanted to have the same kind of opportunities in college that I had to be involved in high school and to get to know a lot of people on a personal level. I began to tour all of these bigger schools, but none of them felt right. After I finished visiting all of the schools on my list, my parents suggested checking out Mississippi College. Being the stubborn guy that I am, I came up with all kinds of excuses… everything from it’s too close to it’s too small and everything in between. However, they were persistent and really wanted me to check it out. After a few weeks of them consistently telling me to check it out, I finally gave in. I went to a college fair at one of the local schools and also attended one of the Spring Preview Days. From that point on I was sold! I knew from the moment I stepped foot on campus that MC was the right fit for me. I loved everything about it, from the campus to the classes to the people.

 

Now, I’m in my second semester as a Sophomore Biology major and have never been happier with my decision. Everything about Mississippi College has fit well with who I am from the personable and caring people to the academically challenging classes to the countless ways to get involved and have fun. It’s truly been a blessing on my life and a place where I have as the school’s motto says found faith, found a family, and found my future!


Leave a Reply

