BLOG: Grace Upon Grace

“The LORD God is our protector and glorious king. He blesses us with kindness and honor.The Lord gives a Heavenly reward to those who walk uprightly and blameless in Him.”

Psalms 84:11

Great verse, right? I don’t know about you, but I like the fact that God, the big guy that made….. well, everything, is on our side. He protects us. He BLESSES US!  “He gives grace to those who walk blameless…. in…. Him….”

Uh oh. Houston, we have a problem. According to this passage of Scripture, the formula is Walk blameless = Grace given. But I, along with every other person that have ever lived, DO NOT WALK BLAMELESS. If you, by chance, think that you might have a shot at walking blameless, then consider this.  Lets talk momentarily of the 10 Commandments. When was the last time you lied? Stolen… perhaps, a pencil? What about something as mere as being jealous of someone or something that they had? How are we looking?

You might be saying, “Well, Chris, that’s only 3 of the Commandments, I at least got the fact that I haven’t murdered!” Not so fast. Jesus, sort of ruined that moment. Jesus says if you go as far as even have a moment of hatred towards there brother and call them a fool, then you’ve sinned (Matthew 5:21). Well… crap. I’ve called someone a fool before. See, Jesus didn’t come to make following the law easier, he came to make it impossible. He also goes on to say that looking upon a woman lustfully is adultery in your heart, and if you say yes to do something for someone, and then don’t do it, that’s also a sin.

And here’s one last bombshell, even if you try to walk blameless, IT CANNOT HAPPEN. See, our good deeds, no matter how hard we try, can never help us earn grace. No matter how many pairs of TOMS shoes we buy, no matter how many doors we open for people, or however many Christian books we read, we can never earn grace. Consider the Prophet Isaiah’s words: “Our good deeds are as filthy rags (Isaiah 64:6).”

“Well, then why did Jesus make it so hard?” Think of this infamous verse. “I am the the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me. (John 14:6, emphasis added).” Then how on earth would we be able to earn Heaven? The good news about Psalms 84:11, is this: We get grace and  honor and kindness and protection and glory from God, because of Jesus’  grace towards us. “God made him who knew no sin to be sin on our behalf (2 Cor. 5:21). I’ve heard it like this, and I agree: If Jesus covers us, whenever God looks at us, he sees his perfect Son. And when he looked at his Son, he saw us, filled with our sin.” Jesus took our place. We earn God’s grace because of the grace he’s shown us through his Son, King Jesus. Because of this, it is truly grace upon grace.

This week, try praying like this:

Dear Poppa, thank you for your grace. Thank you that someone like me, is included in your grace. Your grace is better than any other way to get to you. No matter what I do, you still love me. If I’m in a valley of life, your grace is there. If I am trying to earn my way to you, you remind me that I can’t earn your grace, but that you give me grace. If I am on top of the mountains of life, I will praise you, because your grace has brought me here. Thank your for your grace, and we love you too. Amen.” 

Chris

One response to “BLOG: Grace Upon Grace

Leave a Reply

