BLOG: Humility

Luke 18:9-14
To some who were confident of their own righteousness and looked down on everybody else, Jesus told this parable: “Two men went up to the temple to pray, one a Pharisee and the other a tax collector. The Pharisee stood up and prayed about[a] himself: ‘God, I thank you that I am not like other men—robbers, evildoers, adulterers—or even like this tax collector. 12I fast twice a week and give a tenth of all I get.'”But the tax collector stood at a distance. He would not even look up to heaven, but beat his breast and said, ‘God, have mercy on me, a sinner.'”I tell you that this man, rather than the other, went home justified before God. For everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, and he who humbles himself will be exalted.”

Don’t worry about the person that you have been. Don’t worry, period. This is not about downing you. This is about encouraging you to become the great person that God wants you to be. And the key is, that Jesus was humble. So if my Savior washes feet, feeds people, and puts himself last, and if I want to follow Jesus, then that means that I’m going to serve like crazy. Short this week, but you yourself think about what it means to serve, personally. In your life.

This week, try praying like this: Dear God, you are so very humble. Why did you humble yourself to the point of your death, to the point of your death. Why? For me. You died, you humbled yourself for me because I screwed it up. When I fail, you win. Every time. Teach me, Savior, to serve others because you have served me. I love you, too, Lord. Amen. 

Leave a Reply

