BLOG: Serve

Several months ago I wrote a blog titled, “Surviving and Thriving in College,” in which I gave some tips on how to enjoy college and be successful. One of those tips was to get involved because college life and how much you enjoy it are often related to how involved you are. There are many ways to do this whether it be the Clubs and Tribes, academic organizations, church ministries, or volunteer work. I have been pretty involved over my year and a half in college; however, I knew I wanted to do a little more. One of my New Year’s Resolutions was to serve people more and to get involved in more things off campus. Recently, I have been able to make that resolution a reality. I made a couple of phone calls and found several organizations that I was interested in volunteering for including Habitat for Humanity, Mission First, and one of the local hospitals. All of these experiences have been awesome. I have learned a lot about myself and serving people throughout it all.

Habitat for Humanity is a community organization that builds houses for needy families. I’ve never been much of a builder, so I didn’t really know what to expect going into my time there. However, I really enjoyed it once I got to the build site. The supervisor was very encouraging and friendly and was willing to talk me through what I was doing. I also had the opportunity to work beside the people who were going to be living in the house. It was a blessing getting to talk to those people and see the hard work that they were putting into their home. They’re hard work and gratuity for having a home really humbled me and showed me how lucky I am to have what I do and that I should not take those things for granted.

At both Mission First and the hospital, I was able to serve in a medical role. The hospital allowed me to interact with patients through wheeling people around, taking people to their car, and more. I also had the opportunity to sit in on a couple of procedures, which was really cool for someone who is interested in Medical School to watch. At Mission First, I have been able to serve and observe in their free community medical clinic. This clinic provides the opportunity for people in the Jackson Metro Area that cannot afford normal medical care the opportunity to be examined for free. It’s been really cool to watch the staff interact with the patients and I’ve learned about serving and loving on people through this.

These are just a couple of ways I have been able to get involved in the community and I encourage everyone else to find their own way to do the same through something they enjoy. Jesus called us in Galatians to serve others by saying, “… through love serve one another. For the whole law is fulfilled in one word: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’” One of the great things about Mississippi College is that they provide a lot of opportunities to do this. We even have a Community Service Center on campus that gets students plugged in to serve in areas that they are interested. Getting involved in this way benefits the community and others as well as teaching you new things about yourself as well. Not to mention it’s a whole lot of fun!

-Zack

Leave a Reply

