BLOG: Indonesia

You may be wondering, just like I was, what we do with our summers. Well, I am not really going to write much about the regular. I’m writing about  what I am doing this summer. Sometime around May 15th, depending on the date I book the plane tickets, I will be going with Drew Williams, one of my rush brothers, to his house in Bandung, West Java, Indonesia. I will be flying into the Jakarta airport from either Memphis or Little Rock. Just the thought of being in a foreign country makes me super excited. You see, I have never been overseas but have always wanted to. Now the opportunity has been opened, and I will finally be able to go. I will be spending around 7 weeks there doing a lot of different things. From what I have understood, I will be teaching English through Bible stories to local children at a day camp the Williams put on, spending time with this missionary family, visiting Bali, and working at a missionary kids’ camp. Also, from July 6-8, there is a retreat the Williams are hosting for Indonesian believers where I will be helping with the youth and children. Although I am very excited for this trip, I have not had much time to sit and think about how this trip will be, so I really don’t know what to expect. Of course, there were some final leaps of faith to take. My church from back home just got a new youth pastor and he has already asked me a few times to come back and intern over the summer, and that is ultimately what I figured I would be doing this summer, but the Lord has something else in mind. He has put on my heart to forget what is behind in my faith and reach forward to the new things He is seeking to do now (Philippians 3). It is difficult at times, not just going overseas or going on this mission trip, but to reach forward. Sometimes, as currently in my walk, we come to a Psalm 126 place and all we can continually pray is take me back. Take me back to the day You found me, to the moment when You became real to me and life radically transformed. And while that is right to pray, and Biblical, we must move on. Move in the sense that we stop blaming God for where we are and our current lack of drive and zeal in our faith and realize that He is the same yesterday, today, and forever (Hebrews 13:8). Move on in as Tennyson would say, “to strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield.” There is no appropriate time to stand still and think that we are where we need to be. There is always something new to be found, and even if we have found what we need to find, there are new depths and heights to take that understanding to. After all, wisdom is folly until it is applied. So, as I prepare for this trip that is almost 4 weeks away, pray. Pray not only for me and the people of Indonesia, but pray from a heart that is striving more everyday. It’s been good, but better things have yet to come.

@strooploop1

Leave a Reply

