BLOG: A Random Act of Kindness

So on the way to work today, I realized that I forgot to pack a lunch. A little frustrated, I was passing by all of the fast food places on Highway 80 in Clinton, so I thought I would just stop by one and pick up something to take to work. I decided on either Wendy’s or Subway, and for some reason I decided to talk to God about where I should go. Subway was on my side of the highway, and it didn’t seem too busy, so I thought that was a clear indication that I should go there, seeing as I was already a running late for work.

I knew I had made the right decision as soon as I walked in and smelled the freshly baked bread. I usually don’t crave too many fast food items, but my mouth was watering for a sandwich.

While I was ordering, an older man walked up in line behind me, and struck up  conversation with me. He commented on my t-shirt (which was a Chick-fil-A shirt I won at the First 100 Giveaway), and laughed at its irony, and that somehow led to conversation about Mississippi College. He really seemed interested in my life, asking me what my major was and what my aspirations were upon graduating. When it came time to check out, he kindly told the cashier to put my food on his bill.

I’ve never had this happen to me before, so it took me off-guard. Of course I said, “Oh, you really don’t have to do that,” but he insisted. He said with a smile, “No, please let me. I had children that attended Mississippi College. What a great institution with great students.” The cashier handed back my cash, and let the man pay. As I thanked him again, he walked away with a kind smile and waved.

Immediately after, I felt sort of strange, because I knew I was perfectly capable of paying for my own meal. I even felt a little selfish, like I should have refused. Then God started to work on my heart. I was reminded that God doesn’t just provide what I need, but He showers me with blessings abundantly. Today, He chose to do that through one of his children, and He is calling me to bring an abundant blessing to those He loves as well. What a wonderful picture of the Body of Christ at work, Love overflowing from one cup to another.

So, take this as an encouragement to look for ways to show someone God’s abundant love today and to be thankful for the seemingly insignificant parts of daily life. Praise God that I forgot to pack a lunch today, or else I would not have had this opportunity to learn more about Him. I challenge you to go beyond a smile and actually sacrifice something for someone else. I want my love to look like the early church in Acts:

“They sold their property and possessions and shared the money with those in need. They worshiped together at the Temple each day, met in homes for the Lord’s Supper, and shared their meals with great joy and generosity-all the while praising God and enjoying the goodwill of all the people. And each day the Lord added to their fellowship those who were being saved.”

Acts 2:45-47

Love loudly,

Taylor

One response to “BLOG: A Random Act of Kindness

Leave a Reply

