BLOG: Making Time for God

Sometimes you just can’t help it: You’re busy. I work three jobs, and my own family is lucky to catch a glimpse of me during the week. So how do you make sure that, among the chaos, God stays number one in your life? Establishing your relationship with the Lord is only part of being a Christian; maintaining the relationship is the challenge.

Verses:

Jeremiah 29:11-13

11 “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 12 Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

– Listen very carefully: God wants to help us! He wants to give you all that you seek, but first we must put Him before anything else in our lives. God will always provide for you; you just need to faithfully seek Him.

Philippians 4:6-7

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

– God knows what is going on in your life. Your hectic schedule isn’t something you need to explain to Him or use as an excuse. He planned it all, remember? All you need to remember is that He wants to hear from you. Giving thanks to God doesn’t need to be an extravagant event. A simple, sincere prayer and thanks to Him daily can help keep your heart in tune with the Lord.

Proverbs 3:5-6

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight.

-In ALL your ways acknowledge Him. Let all that you do be for God’s glory.

These are the verses I read and recite whenever I feel like God’s being pushed aside for fleeting events in my life. Remember why you’re here. The reason you were put here is not to work from sun up to sun down, it is not to catch that party on Saturday night, it’s not even to make an A on that research paper. You’re here because of God. To praise, thank, and love Him are the best ways you could possibly use your time.

-Molly

One response to “BLOG: Making Time for God

Leave a Reply

