Major: Interpersonal and Public Communication

Being an Interpersonal and Public Communication major has played a huge role in shaping me during my time here at MC. I absolutely love the Communication department, and I am so thankful for professors who strive to create the best environment in which I can learn.

My major gives me the opportunity to take classes like Listening and Negotiation, as well as the option to take various Communication electives. This semester, I am enrolled in a course called Intercultural Communication, in which I am learning how to communicate with people from other cultures. My professor, Mr. Robert Fortenberry, has been a missionary in Botswana for 18 years. His insight is such a blessing because I feel called to the mission field after I graduate from MC in 2014.

I am confident that the courses I’m taking as an Interpersonal and Public Communication major will equip me to effectively communicate with anyone I come into contact with as a foreign missionary. I can’t wait to see how the Lord will use all that I have learned for His glory!  I highly encourage anyone who is undecided on their major to call 601-925-3229 or go here for more information about the Mississippi College Communication Department!

-Katelyn

One response to “Major: Interpersonal and Public Communication

  1. It’s great that you enjoy your major! I hope that you are attending Mississippi College’s Freshman Orientation next year. It would be great to get to know you better!

Leave a Reply

