College Tips: Being a Responsible Adult

As you enter the big, bright world of college, you’re probably going to be hearing the phrase “You’re an adult now!” from many people.

Guess what? THEY’RE RIGHT.

My goal for this blog is not to scare you, I just want to give you some helpful hints so that you can successfully transition from high school to college.

1. Check your e-mail

Your professors are going to help you, if you come to them. However, it is not their responsibility to make sure you know when/where class is (and yes, it is subject to change at times!). Your e-mail will be your BEST friend. Check it DAILY!  My professors usually give me 24 hour notice of a pop-quiz via my MC account. Your dorm will also send you alerts if something goes wrong (power outages, floods, etc…) I can’t even explain how helpful it is! Start practicing this your senior year to get into a good habit!

2. Keep and READ your syllabus!

Just like in high school, on the first day of classes at MC, you’re going to get a syllabus of what the semester will look like. It will have everything from the teacher’s info to when assignments are due, and usually covers all material you’ll need for the class. I was in high school once, and I know what you do with your syllabus. You tuck it in the back of your binder or simply throw it out! Do NOT, I repeat, DO NOT lose track of these helpful tools. If you do, most professors have online links. Like I said before, your professors will be helpful, but they are not going to remind you when papers or assignments are due (the nice ones MIGHT). Check it at least at the beginning of each week to see what needs to get done! Plan ahead and stay on top of your game!

3. Go to class

You get here, you realize you no longer have to fool your parents into thinking you are sick in order to stay home all day, you skip class! Ahhh… You don’t HAVE to do anything! News flash: You (or your parents) are paying good money to go to Mississippi College, and if that’s not enough to motivate you, here’s my reasoning behind it all: I’m getting some phenomenal scholarship money from MC and a few outside sources, given that I maintain a certain GPA. If I don’t go to class, I don’t know what will be on the test. If I don’t know what’s on the test, I fail the class. If I fail tests, my GPA drops. If my GPA drops, I don’t come back next semester. It’s real, y’all! Just go to class!

Growing up is hard to do, but it’s a part of life, and it’s worth it!

-Molly

One response to “College Tips: Being a Responsible Adult

Leave a Reply

