College Tips: Getting Active

I’ve never been routinely active, and that is something that I’ve wanted to change for years.  Luckily, getting and staying active is super easy at MC!

Whether you like to run, swim, or lift weights, MC offers opportunities to get fit and stay fit.

Health Plex

Unlike a lot of schools, MC has a very special place on campus dedicated to fitness: The Baptist Healthplex.  The Healthplex is decked out with pools, state-of-the-art equipment, and an indoor track where students can become a member for a discounted price and get their work out on any day of the week.

If you have never been active before or if you want to continue being active from high school, coming to college is the perfect time to get active and start a healthier lifestyle.

Of course, the average person doesn’t normally wake up and decide that he or she wants to get active. The choice to become active became clear and easy when I asked myself three questions:

1.) Is there anything that I can improve about myself?

Definitely being active was an awesome way to improve my life.  I knew that getting active would build my confidence and give me more energy to do all the awesome activities available at MC.

2.) Is it worth it?

Absolutely! Staying active takes time and dedication. I quickly learned that I would have to get organized and make time to go to the Healthplex among my business schedule with classes and fun college events. Sure, it takes extra time to run every day, and I lose an hour that I could’ve spent grabbing a cup of coffee or taking one of those wonderful college naps, but it is worth it.  

3.) I don’t know anything about being active, so how do I do it?

There are so many resources available for those wanting to start an active lifestyle.  From magazines, to blogs, to even friends and faculty on campus, taking a few minutes to do a little research can give you all the information that you want about getting active.  For me, I learned that I had to set goals like running a 5k or going to the Healthplex with a partner to keep me accountable. 

665368_3775720353502_1771216013_o

Believe me, getting active is one of the best choices you can make.  I’m no expert or gym fanatic, but  I know God has given us the opportunity to be the best that we can be in college, and I fully believe that getting active is an excellent way to be the best that you can be.  I’m so glad MC is a place where that was able to happen for me, and hopefully it will be the same for you!

-Micheal

One response to “College Tips: Getting Active

Leave a Reply

