Do What You Love: Choosing Your Major

Besides deciding what college to go to, one of the toughest decisions for every college bound high-schooler is what they are going to major in.

If you’re anything like me when I was 18, I had absolutely no idea what I wanted to do with my life, and four years didn’t seem like much time to decide. I had a lot of ideas, but either they didn’t seem practical enough or people told me they didn’t make enough money. I was torn between whether to pursue what I loved or to pursue a career that had a guaranteed paycheck.

After much prayer and long talks with my parents, I decided to pursue what I love, and it didn’t take long for me to discover that I loved literature.
2c30ef35df1bd2d6662743b36e56652bEnglish had always been my favorite subject in high school and my English teachers inspired me and pushed me like no teachers had done before. When I visited MC for the first time my junior year of high school, I got to talk to Dr. Randle, who is now my favorite English professor at MC, and we had a great talk about how the Bible is literature, and if we learn to study literature, then that opens doors and ways for us to study the Bible. I was sold. I loved literature and I loved Mississippi College and the passion for God that was so evident there.

If I’m being completely honest, I still don’t know what I want to do with my life. All I know is I love my major, and class is actually fun!

9d0eb6068b6082fe7b92b5d869e26c70

Whether you love English or you hate it (most people are haters, and it’s okay), there is something that you have been created to love. I challenge you to find out what that is and pursue it. God was very purposeful in giving you your unique passions, and He will provide a way for you to use them. Do what you love for the glory of God!

-Elizabeth

2 responses to “Do What You Love: Choosing Your Major

  1. I have a passion for helping others, reading, writing, listening to music, and dancing. I really don’t know what major applies to that, but I chose Nursing. Thanks for the blog and have a nice day :)!

Leave a Reply

