Spain: Part II

IMG_2847

Here is the end of Hunter’s blog about his experience in Spain!

These are a few of my favorite things

– Walking everywhere. Everywhere I need to go: school, cafés, shopping, etc. is within walking distance.

– Salamanca Hospitality. It’s just like southern except in Spanish. My home stay family is one of the best things that has happened to me. They love me and treat me like their own and I am incredibly blessed to live with such a sweet family,

– Cobblestone roads and old architecture. Salamanca may have the vibrant night life of a big city (due to the high percentage of University students and foreigners), but the city has the feel and comfort of a small quaint city, just like the brick streets of Clinton!

– The Plaza Mayor. This plaza is known as the most beautiful in all of Spain. It is right in the center of the city, and is always full of locals and tourists who  stop at one of the many bars or cafés to have a café con leche (coffee with milk) or my favorite churros con chocolate.

IMG_0641

Churros con Chocolate. Imagine the combination of a crunchy doughnut with a cup of thick melted chocolate and you have this national sweet treat.

IMG_0417 (1)

-The spot at the edge of the city where I get to sit and watch the sunset

What I wish I had here:

– The American eating schedule. Spaniards have a very different daily schedule. Breakfast is similar to the American way – something hot to drink with a pastry or a bowl of cereal. Lunch is at 2:00 and is the largest meal of the day. Children come home from school and the city shuts down so that families can eat together. Dinner begins at anywhere between 9:00-10:00 pm. This was a little difficult to adjust to the first week or so, but now it is just the normal thing.

– Cups Coffee. Enough said.

– Drier and fabric softener for laundry. You don’t know what you’ve got till its gone.

– Christian Community. This is real and any of you who have read my personal blog know that this is something I struggled with greatly when I first got here. I am so blessed to have the community of believers that I do at MC, but coming here I am the only Christian in my class which is of course difficult, but the Lord has taught me so many things about His presence, the church, and being bold in sharing the Gospel through this time of solitude. I could go on, but it would take up the entire blog (which is why I wrote my own blog about it [http://beautytounfold.wordpress.com]).

Why should you study abroad? 

You have the opportunity to learn another language. You get to live in a beautiful foreign city. You will make friends from all over the world who come from different lifestyles. You are blessed with the opportunity to share the Gospel with people with have never heard it but are desperately seeking an answer from the world.

So why not?

The day before I left when I was saying goodbye to my family my mom read this passage: Joshua 1:9 – “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.” So this is my challenge to you: what can you do? What step of faith can you take? Whether it means studying abroad, making a new friend, sharing the Gospel where you are, or deciding to come to MC (for all you prospective students out there); be strong and courageous in whatever you do, for the Lord is on your side and desires to use you in a mighty way for the advancement of His kingdom.

– Hunter

(Sophomore Guest Blogger and Lover of Spanish, Coffee, Good Music, and Jesus)

One response to “Spain: Part II

Leave a Reply

