Studying in London: Drew Williams

Drew!

Drew Williams is a sophomore at MC, and he grew up in Southeast Asia. He’s been spending this semester with a group of our students studying in London. Here is a little bit about his experience this semester! 

I’m not altogether sure why I decided to study abroad in London. Perhaps I justified it because I was an English major at the time. I mean, it’s England, right? I can learn about literature there. But I’m pretty sure that wasn’t all there was to it. I felt a tug. It was soft–gentle at first–, like a whisper. But that whisper grew louder and louder until I sensed the Lord leading me very clearly in the direction of London.

I still didn’t really know why. I just knew I was supposed to go.DSCN9934

I’m not the same Drew who boarded that plane on the 28th of January. I had a feeling that would happen: that I would leave and come back different. But I had no idea just how different “different” could be.

Matthew 28:19-20 records the Great Commission given by Jesus to His disciples: “Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” (NASB)DSCN9787

I can live that commission out here by simply asking the Father for opportunities and stepping outside. You see, London is affectionately known as the capital of the world, and it really could be. People travel to London from every corner of the globe. China, Brazil, Italy, Malaysia, Portugal, Thailand, Korea, France, India, they’re all represented here. These are the nations, and they aren’t unreachable. The nations surround me on every side in London, and I love it. The Lord has opened up so many opportunities for me to serve Him among the diverse and culturally rich peoples of London… Opportunities such as meeting people in London’s many parks, preaching in the square, attending cultural events, and simply being open to the Holy Spirit’s leadership.DSCN0803

I’ve seen God work in ways I never could have imagined. I’ve experienced the inner workings of the Holy Spirit, seen His majesty in the mountains and forests of the Highlands, felt His power in the wind and snow atop Arthur’s Seat, watched Him move in the hearts of people all around me. And although there are many who are still slaves to sin, He truly is the God of this city, this nation, and this world. And He is moving. We do not see the wind, but we feel its effects.

London is a windy city.

And I’ll never be the same.DSCN0683DSCN9791

One response to “Studying in London: Drew Williams

  1. I am glad you got to see London, England! These chances come once in a lifetime, you can’t just let them pass you by! Have a blessed rest of the day. Ciao :)!

Leave a Reply

