College Tip: Should you drink coffee in college?

Coming into college I was not a coffee drinker. I just didn’t even know what the big fuss was all about. Everyone was saying, “Once you get into college you are going to start drinking so much coffee all the time…” I didn’t buy the hype. I even worked at a coffee shop and didn’t even drink coffee! I was dead set on not drinking coffee…..however, I lost the battle. College is so much fun that I had to drink coffee. I could not stay awake, because I was having so much fun! Late nights of hanging out with friends or pulling an all-nighter for a big test makes you sleepy. Simply put, coffee made college better!

The best part of staying awake

cadaver

The above picture is me after pulling a brutal all-nighter. I had a great night studying with friends, but as you can clearly see there is no coffee on my desk. Class is awesome, but a simple cup of coffee can make or break how awake you are for class. Coffee helped me stay awake when I had to and it also helped me have energy when I needed it. A simple cup of coffee on my desk, and we would have a picture of me wide awake in class! You know what they say, “The best part of waking up, is Folgers in your cup”.

Community Coffee

After a beautiful two minute walk from campus you will find one of the greatest places in the entire world, Cups. Cups is my favorite coffee shop and it’s super close to campus. You can always run into awesome people while you are in there. It is a great place to be intentional with other people or just put your nose to the grindstone and get some major studying done. There are over four different places that are on campus to get coffee as well! I have spent hours studying, relaxing, talking, and building lifelong relationships with others, all while sipping on some delicious cups coffee.

Relationships 

I have built many relationships over a good cup of coffee. Everywhere from work, camp, and college relationships have been bonded between many of my closest friends. Drinking coffee is a great way to sit down, relax, and focus on people.

So whether you use coffee to stay awake, study, or enjoy friendships I say go for it!

-Kenneth Gray, coffee drinker, music lover, MC grad 2013

Leave a Reply

