Sharing My Faith

Following a recent discussion with a friend from home, I have been challenged to take a second look at how I share my personal faith. My reflection is not focused on the fruit of my relationship with Christ, but the roots. When I first began my walk with Jesus, at the age of 7, I was able to recall my prior existence with clarity and ease. The past and present were clearly juxtaposed, and I could effortlessly contrast the vivid perspectives from either side of the curtain. However, with each passing day, I take a step away from this understanding.  And, honestly, I’ve lost sight of what it’s like to live without Christ.

So what do I say when faced with a friend who believes neither in the Bible nor even the existence of a Creator? How do I relate with someone holding these views, if I can’t even remember my own life prior to finding Christ?

Many researchers have dedicated countless hours to scientifically proving the existence of a God. From the exact positioning of the earth in relation to the sun to the precise gas composition of our atmosphere, some point to these “perfect” conditions as proof positive that there is a God. But do they really? If one believes in the random constructions of a universal fate, what prevents fate from also being randomly “perfect?” The existence of natural complexity does not escape the logic of a non-believer. And remember, while the use of scripture is often helpful when sharing a personal testimony, it will be of miniscule worth to a person rejecting even the existence of a greater power.

So what now? If we can’t wield the Bible as our modern Excalibur, what are we to use in this struggle for understanding?

I believe the answer to these questions lies in the single aspect of human life which evades all scientific explanation: the universal human capacities to both wonder and feel. Our ability to question, reason, and choose elevates the human race above a mere chemical existence. Each human, whether a believer in God or an atheist, faces the same question. “Do I believe in God?”  In my opinion, there is no reason that an unintentional universe would give the human race such an innate inquiry. This shared natural desire to make a decision, no matter what it may be, is a gift bestowed upon the human race by its Creator, a whisper of sorts inviting each of us to find the greatest love of our life.

Furthermore, in addition to our shared fascination with the human existence, we have also been given the gift of emotion, most importantly love. In this instance, I am not referring to the type of love I hold for a Wendy’s frosty or even that which I have for my dog. I know that there is a God because I do not simply love my friend for his intelligence, talents, or sense of humor. My love for him extends beyond his human condition to the foreground of his soul. A feeling this intensely personal cannot be the random product of an accidental universe. Humor me for a moment as I reference scripture, but this spiritual condition is simply the manifestation of Galatians 2:20, “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me.” The love I have for my friend is not truly my own. As a believer, I have been blessed by the opportunity to feel God’s love as he uses me to love others.

Therefore, the existence of God is evidenced by the question itself. He purposefully calls each of us to wonder at His being, and those still searching should not have to look farther than the hearts of those who have already found.

Leave a Reply

