Motivational Monday – Devotion: Divine Assurance

‘ For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord. ‘ – Romans 8:38-39

At this point in most of your lives you have just graduated high school and are about to start your first semester of college.  I’m sure you’re super excited for it, but I’m also guessing some of you are growing more nervous every day.  One important thing to remember is that you are not alone.  I mean this in a way that you will be with tons of other freshmen, who are new just like you and nervous just like you.  More importantly than having other people in the same boat as you, God is always with you.

We all get the feeling of loneliness or that we are unloved.. but that is never true.  God will never forsake us.  He will never leave us.  We, as humans, can hurt and forsake others, but our God is beyond human.  He unconditionally loves us even when we forsake Him, and think we are indeed, alone.

Whether you might be anxious about starting a new chapter in your life or worrying about day-to-day events, just stop yourself.  Remember that God has already planned your tomorrow.  Take a deep breath and trust that promise.  I’m a big planner — and it’s a downfall I have in some ways.  I try to plan all these little details about my life and get stressed when something doesn’t go the way I thought.  I try to combat these thoughts by remembering God has already planned the rest of my days and it’s silly of  me to think I have executive control over my life.  God always will.

I’ve been reading a book called ‘Jesus Calling‘, a daily devotional.  This is where some of these ideas have stemmed from.  It has been helping me realize to feel and know God’s presence more and more.  Knowing that presence will continually be there throughout my life is what brings me peace when I am caught up in the trials of life.  True peace is found through divine assurance in God.

 ‘ Behold, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands; your walls are continually before me. ‘  – Isaiah 49:16

– Jordyn

One response to “Motivational Monday – Devotion: Divine Assurance

  1. I think this was a very good articule! Every student that reads it will feel more comfortable in making the transition from highschool to college.

Leave a Reply

