College Mythbusters

Hey,

It’s Andrew! I love life!

Top Four Common College Myths Debunked:

#1 College = Party

A lot of times when I think about college, I remember that picture of John Belushi wearing a sweatshirt that simply reads “College”

College tips #1

or the wild toga parties that seem to surface in every movie featuring a college campus. The truth is that college is not one constant party. People actually study. People actually go to class. People actually manage their time well. But, college is still fun! This is the only time in your life you will get to live in a dorm with your friends and be together all the time. If you balance your time well, you can still succeed academically and enjoy your time as a college student!

#2 Your professors don’t care about you.

Before I came to school, I imagined that professors would be old, boring people who smell like a library and don’t care if you pass or fail. dolores umbridge This is not the case. Teachers are people too! Every one of my instructors calls me by my first name and is actively concerned about my achievement in the classroom. On one occasion, I slept through my US History class. I practically ran to my professor’s office to apologize and see if there was anything I needed to do to make up for my absence. She was so kind and gracious to me. She told me not to worry about it, get the notes from another student and enjoy the rest of my afternoon. This ended up being one of my favorite classes simply because my instructor genuinely cared about me.

#3 If you fail a test, the world WILL end.

Failing a test does not trigger a premature apocalypse. bomb Everybody has their off days. It’s like what Thomas Wayne asks a young Batman, “And why do we fall, Bruce? So we can learn to pick ourselves up.” batman If you don’t do well on a test, you won’t get kicked out of college. Talk with your professor. See what you did wrong. In the end, you’ll be motivated to study harder the next time.

#4  No rules! No Parents!

One of my friends who attends a different school told me a story about a group of students who always yelled, “COLLEGE! NO RULES! NO PARENTS!” And while this sounds like a pretty good deal on the surface, you actually benefit from having some structure in your life. Sure your mom isn’t there to wake you up for class, but you can still remember the things you learned at home. Do your laundry. Call your mom every once in a while. Don’t wear stripes and plaid. Like my dad and probably every other dad in the world says, “Remember who you are and Whose you are.”

So basically, don’t worry about college. “Cast all your cares on Him because He cares for you.”  You won’t wear a toga to a wild party every day of college. You’ll be surrounded by a faculty that cares about you and wants what is best for you. Failing a test won’t kill you. And finally, you CAN learn to manage your time without having your parents hovering over you.

-Andrew

Leave a Reply

