Let’s Make Some Mistakes

A couple weeks ago, a friend and I were asked to play a little music for a show on campus. It was such a fun gathering–super small with a chill coffee-and-strumming atmosphere. But needless to say, we were NERVOUS. We had done a little worship leading in high school, but even doing a small show like this was a new thing!

BUFomT1CIAAGpYt

Right before it started, as I’m chugging water and wiping sweaty palms on my jeans, he looks at me and says, “Let’s go out there and make some mistakes.”

*eyebrow-raise*

Alright, Aaron. Not exactly my idea of a pep-talk but, you know, it’s cool.

Obviously, that’s not the kind of advice any normal, success-seeking person wants to hear. It almost seems to be setting yourself up for failure, right?

Not quite. The more I thought about it, the more I realized Aaron’s advice wasn’t setting me up for failure as it was preparing my mind and expectations for reality. We practiced, we loved what we were doing, and we wanted to do it well, but let’s be real: we’re humans. Mistakes are inevitable.

This is true, in all areas, not just when you’re playing for shows.

This is especially true in college.

Now, hear me people. I don’t give you this advice so you can slack off and give excuses:

 “Liz said mistakes are inevitable, Mom!”

Nope, sorry. We still have to give it our best. But when we come to the conclusion that mistakes will happen, our confidence isn’t thrown off when they do. We can still carry on and pursue what we love, even with a little failure in our life.

So let’s get out there and make some mistakes. Because learning from our mistakes is a sure sign of maturity.

8d767e64c9ed64b650dbd12715813624

-Elizabeth; A redeemed maker of mistakes.

“The saying is trustworthy and deserving of full acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am the worst. But I received mercy for this reason, that in me, as the foremost, Jesus Christ might display his perfect patience as an example to those who were to believe in him for eternal life.” 1 Timothy 1:15-16

2 responses to “Let’s Make Some Mistakes

  1. What a great piece of writing. As men, it’s a difficult pill to swallow regarding past mistakes. Luckily, we have a God bigger than our thoughts. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Thanks for sharing this golden nugget about mistakes. I know I get hard on myself when I slip. Thankfully, God is bigger than my futile thoughts. Again, great reminder.

Leave a Reply

