Choose Joy

IMG_0846“But let all those that put their trust in You rejoice: let them ever shout for joy, because You defend them: let them also that love Your Name be joyful in You. ” Psalm 5:11

Life is hard. These three words are so true. We get hurt; people let us down; we go through difficult times; we don’t understand why things happen. Life is hard. But even in the midst of that pain we have a choice. We can choose joy.

One thing I have learned in life is that there is a big difference between happiness and joy. Happiness is a mental or emotional state of being that is dependent on circumstances. Joy is a characteristic of the soul that can be present even when everything else is falling apart.

Joy Field

Too often in my life I have failed to choose the joy of the Lord. Recently, I was having one of those days when the weight of life fooled me into believing joy was out of reach. I was approached by a good friend who could tell I was having a bad day, and he asked a simple question that completely changed my attitude, “Where are you seeking your joy?”

Every day we have the option, to choose joy or not. My immediate answer to my friend was “The Lord, obviously,” but as I sat there I began to think, and I came to the realization that I was finding my joy in things of this world: people, grades, reputation, etc. All of these things may bring temporary happiness, but not joy. We must find our joy in the Lord, the One who never fails, who will not let us down.

JOY2

When we choose to trust in the good Father and His plan, we are putting our hope in His unfailing love for us, and that is where we find joy. So next time things seem to be against you or His plan is not matching up with your desired outcome, trust in His love; trust in His plan. The world needs joy, so carry it with you and share with the world the source of your joy.

“But I have trusted in your steadfast love; my heart shall rejoice in your salvation.” Psalm 13:5

Hunter (seeker, learner, and appreciator of friends who ask the tough questions)

Leave a Reply

