My 10 Defining Songs of 2013

Howdy folks! Your friendly neighborhood blogger Drake here.

Back in my middle school days, I used to pick out a song that defined every month for me. Now, you might consider this to be lame, but think about it: Haven’t certain songs defined certains seasons of your life?

For instance, if you’re 22, maybe you would pick out the song “22” by Taylor Swift as the song that really connects with your life.

Image

Or maybe you are a high school senior longing to leave your home town and experience the craziness that is college (***by the way, you should come to Mississippi College). If you are like my friend and fellow blogger Andrew, Switchfoot songs help you to define what you are going through.

Image

(pic via inderdaadja.tumblr.com)

So as the year that was 2013 draws to a close, I would like to share 10 songs that defined the year for me, in no particular order, with the defining lyrics included:

1. “Houdini” by Foster the People

Image

“You never knew what I could find
What would come when we realize
Don’t no one want to compromise.”

2. “All These Things That I’ve Done” by The Killers

“I’m so much older than I can take.”

3. “The Scientist” by Coldplay

“Oh ooh, ooh ooh ooh ooh
Ah ooh, ooh ooh ooh ohh”

“Yellow” by Coldplay (yes, another Coldplay song)

“Look at the stars
Look how they shine for you
And everything you do
Yeah, they were all yellow”

5. “The Reckoning” by NEEDTOBREATHE

“Never run away a boy
When you can walk away a man”
“Easy is a refuge
And it’s an easy place to be
But when the world shines on you
What will the whole think?”

6. “Nothing Left To Lose” by Mat Kearney

Image

“I don’t know how hard this wind will blow”

7. “Over My Head (Cable Car)” by The Fray

“Everyone knows I’m in
Over my head
Over my head
With eight seconds left in ovetime”

8. “American Dream” by Switchfoot

“I want to live and die for bigger things”

9. “Chap Stick, Chapped Lips, And Things Like Chemistry” by Relient K

“Your illustrations always point out just what’s wrong with me
It’s chap stick, and chapped lips, and things like chemistry”

10. “Wrecking Ball” by Miley Cyrus

10. “10,000 Reasons” by Matt Redman

“Whatever may pass, and whatever lies before me
Let me be singing when the evening comes”

-Drake

Leave a Reply

