Living Life to the Fullest

Hey Choctawkers, it’s Andrew again talking about living life to the fullest. One of my favorite phrases is, “If you’re not living on the edge, you’re taking up too much space.”

002eefc00c37478c1ead151328a2791e

While I’m on favorites, my favorite book of the Bible is Ecclesiastes. King Solomon explores the emptiness of life and concludes that we should “..Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the duty of all mankind.” Ecclesiastes 12:13

Recently, a friend shared this text with me:

I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived. I did not wish to live what was not life, living is so dear; nor did I wish to practise resignation, unless it was quite necessary. I wanted to live deep and suck out all the marrow of life, to live so sturdily and Spartan-like as to put to rout all that was not life, to cut a broad swath and shave close, to drive life into a corner, and reduce it to its lowest terms.” -Henry David Thoreau

e306a64f71c1f441cda3416b09503179

I wasn’t very excited to read such a long quote, but it was about two in the morning and I didn’t have much else to do at the time, so I read it.

I did not wish to live what was not life.”

Too often, I find myself living a blur of events that look good on the surface but are hollow in the end. Sometimes my life is not fulfilling, like a big bag of chips that promises a satisfying snack but is filled with air and leaves the consumer unsatisfied. This sounds dark, but in the words of Switchfoot, “The shadow proves the sunshine.” You never appreciate a light more than when you’re lost in the dark.

shadow

Whenever I feel hopeless,  I turn to the cross. Christ gave up his life so that we could truly live. Through Christ, I have fulfillment. “Anyone who is among the living has hope[b]—even a live dog is better off than a dead lion!” Ecclesiastes 9:4

hope

Also, it’s important to nurture your spiritual life. If you aren’t reading the Word and hearing from the Lord, your life will not be satisfying. It’s also important to be plugged in with a body of believers. When you get to college it’s easy to stop going to church. The majority of college students don’t go. We were made to live in community (See Hunter’s blog) and being involved in the local church is a great way to grow closer to the Lord.

So, start living a more purposeful life. Don’t just drift around; live a life focused on the Gospel.

See you, Choctaw fans!

Andrew, Sophomore Blogger, Oreobics instructor, amateur Jenga player

One response to “Living Life to the Fullest

Leave a Reply

